Press Release



For Release: Immediate

Contact: Judell Anderson, CAE, Executive Director

(612) 623-1110

AASP-MN Awards \$15,000 in Scholarships

The Alliance of Automotive Service Providers of Minnesota (AASP-MN) awarded \$15,000 in scholarships to help post-secondary automotive students pay for tuition during the 2015-16 school year. The scholarships are in the amount of \$1,000 per student and were made possible by a successful fundraising drive within the AASP-MN membership, as well as a generous donation from the Minnesota State I-CAR Committee. All recipients will be entering the second year of a NATEF-certified automotive program based in Minnesota.

Congratulations to this year's recipients!

- Carver Brownlee, Hibbing Community College, Hibbing Automotive Service Technology
- Justin Cole, MN State College Southeast Technical, Winona Auto Body Collision Repair
- Isaac Connolly, Dakota County Technical College, Rosemount Auto Body Collision Repair
- Joshua Firanek, Dunwoody College of Technology, Minneapolis MOPAR College Automotive Program
- Sarah Koepsell-Schmieg, Dakota County Technical College, Rosemount GM Automotive Service Educational Program
- Robert Lemke, Ridgewater College, Willmar Automotive Service Technology
- Grant Lieser, Hennepin Technical College, Brooklyn Park, Automotive Service Technology
- Laura Martinson, Ridgewater College, Willmar Automotive Service Technology
- Dylan Merten, St. Cloud Technical & Community College, St. Cloud Automotive Service Technology
- Phanit Phoutthaphaphone, Hennepin Technical College, Brooklyn Park, Automotive Service Technology
- Carlos Sanchez Cortes, Dakota County Technical College, Automotive Service Technology
- Jesus Sanchez Palomares, Hennepin Technical College, Eden Prairie Auto Body Collision Repair
- Joshua Schmitt, St. Cloud Technical & Community College, St. Cloud Automotive Service Technology
- Ismael Vences, Hennepin Technical College, Brooklyn Park Auto Body Collision Repair
- Andrew Vodak, Ridgewater College, Willmar Auto Body Collision Repair

Thirty-seven students from 15 schools applied for the scholarships. Applications were reviewed by a committee of industry representatives, with consideration given to scholastic achievement, education and career goals, financial need and written recommendations.

The scholarship awards are the centerpiece of AASP-MN's Automotive Education Fund, which was established to provide financial resources to support automotive students, enhance automotive programs and raise awareness of career opportunities in the independent automotive service industry.

The Alliance of Automotive Service Providers of Minnesota (AASP-MN) is an association of independently-owned automotive service businesses and industry suppliers dedicated to improving the state's automotive service industry and the success of its members.